When on, users get shown a maintenance page, except if you have the VIEW_MAINTENANCE permission. The admin area works either way and you get shown a small 'maintenance mode' watermark in the bottom right corner.
Setup default admin and view-log role and permission (the whole reason i added all this stuff).
also added artisan command to give user a role via command line with artisan permissions:AddRoleToUser {rolename} {userId}